COURSE INFORMATION FOR REGULARLY SCHEDULED CLASSES
The course is made up of both classroom and range time. The range is located onsite so no travel is necessary. We can accommodate up to 14 students per class.
Prior to taking the class you may complete your online application to the Department of Public Safety but it is not required. To begin your application, CLICK HERE.
On the day of class you should bring with you:
Upon successful completion of the class, you will be issued your LTC-100 which you will then forward to DPS.
If you have any questions or, if you would like to reserve a spot, you may call us at 940-284-3200.
CHECK BACK FOR CLASS UPDATES
WE CAN COME TO YOU!
INTRODUCING CORPORATE AND PRIVATE GROUP LICENSE TO CARRY CLASSES
We understand that in today’s world you may not always have time to get away to a regularly scheduled event. We also understand that there are many employers who have multiple employees that would like to take a License to Carry class but can’t coordinate time away for it. That’s where WE come in!
We are now offering private corporate and group License to Carry classes. This is ideal for the busy workplace as well as for groups or families. The classroom portion can be conducted at your office or other meeting space you have. We provide the instruction and electronic support for the class. (Firearms are not needed for the classroom portion). Day, evening or weekend times are available.
The shooting (or proficiency) test can be scheduled separately. It will be conducted at our facility located east of Gainesville. This facility has an enclosed shoothouse (complete with ceiling fans) to protect you from the heat and whatever else Mother Nature decides to throw at us!
For the classroom portion you need to bring:
For the proficiency portion you need:
For groups of 3 or more the classroom fee will be $50 per student.
The shooting proficiency test will be $10 per student for the range fee.
If you would like to schedule a group LTC class, please call us at 940-284-3200 or Email Us.
Upon successful completion of both the classroom and proficiency portion, we will provide you with the state form LTC-100 which you will submit to the State of Texas.
We also provide phone support for students when completing your online application to the State of Texas. This application and fee are separate from our class and fee.
COST FOR CLASSROOM AND SHOOTING PORTION: $65 (A $25 deposit is required to hold your spot. Call us at 940-284-3200.)
INSTRUCTORS: KEN STORMER and DEBBIE SICKING
In addition to being a certified License to Carry instructor, Ken is a NRA Certified Instructor with a background in military and law enforcement. Debbie Sicking is also a NRA Certified Pistol Instructor, a certified License to Carry instructor and is a member of The Well Armed Woman shooting team.
REGISTRATION CONTACT: DEBBIE SICKING 940-284-3200
CLASS REGISTRATION: CLICK HERE
LOCATION: Classes are at Timber Creek Shooting Range, east of Gainesville, Texas (north Texas area). The range has an indoor classroom as well as an enclosed shoothouse to protect against any type of weather.
NEW: We can come to you! Private corporate or group classes are available. (Mandatory minimum requirement is 8 people.) Classroom portion can be done at a convenient location to you and shooting portion is completed at Timber Creek Shooting range at a mutually convenient time.
Copyright © Red River West Outdoor Firearms Training Facility All Rights Reserved
As of January 1, 2016, House Bill 910 was enacted allowing the licensed carrying of a weapon (concealed or open) in Texas. We are now offering Texas License to Carry ("LTC") classes. If you have been considering obtaining your License to Carry, please consider one of our classes.
CLASS START TIME:
The classroom portion of the LTC are state mandated 4-6 hours in length. This is in addition to the shooting proficiency portion. Our classes start at 8:00 am and it is requested you be there by 7:45 to check in so that class may begin on time.
The class fee is $65.00 (which includes the range portion) and is payable in either cash or check. A deposit of $25.00 is required to hold your spot in a class.
We do have a limited number of 9MM handguns for rent if you do not have your own. The fee for gun rental is $25.00 which also includes 1 box of ammunition.
You will need 50 rounds of ammunition for the shooting (proficiency) portion of the class. Good quality American made brass case, copper jacketed ammo is suggested.
Timber Creek Shooting Range, east of Gainesville, Texas (North Texas.) Class is held in an indoor classroom. Shooting portion is done in enclosed shoothouse so inclimate weather will not be an issue.
The current LTC-16 (2017-2018 Texas License to Carry A Handgun Laws) is now available on the DPS Regulatory Services Division website. To see the handbook, CLICK HERE.